Thank You to Our Sponsors






2018 Midwest Chapter Annual Meeting

2018-03-12 17:30:00 2018-03-13 16:30:00 America/Chicago 2018 Midwest Chapter Annual Meeting - EBA **For a full listing of events visit OMNI CHICAGO HOTEL, 676 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611. EBA - Energy Bar Association - midwest
Dates:  Monday, March 12, 2018 - 5:30pm to Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 4:30pm
Location:  OMNI CHICAGO HOTEL, 676 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611.
Midwest Chapter

Speaker List

Hotel Information
Registration Fees
Register Now Online

The 2018 Midwest Chapter Annual Meeting will be held at the Omni Chicago Hotel in Chicago, IL on March 12-13, 2018. The Midwest Chapter is presenting a one day CLE program and will offer numerous networking opportunities, including a pre-conference hosted cocktail reception and scheduled breaks during the program for attendees to connect.


Program Overview

The Midwest region is facing early retirement of fossil fuel generation and a steady increase in utility-scale renewable resource development. These changes are altering the generation mix supplying the bulk power system and changing the grid’s operating characteristics.

The panel discussions will offer insight on the following:

  • how the energy market is evolving to recognize generation supply attributes that are contributing to the reliability of the grid
  • what operating characteristics must be understood to assure reliability and resiliency
  • challenges in the development of renewable generation



Omni Chicago Hotel
676 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611.


EBA has secured a block of sleeping rooms for attendees at the special rate of 195.00 single/double occupancy for King Suites. The special block rate will be available until February 22, 2018.

  • Reservations can be made online at the following booking link.
  • Reservations can also be made by calling 800-THE-OMNI and requesting a room in the 2018 EBA Midwest Chapter Annual Meeting Room Block.


2018 Midwest Annual Meeting Program Schedule and Registration form PDF

March 12, 2018 5:30PM-7:30PM:   Welcome Reception (Omni)

March 13, 2018

8:00 am to 9:00 am


8:45 am to 9:00 am

Robert A. Weishaar, Jr.,  President, Energy Bar Association, Chair, Energy & Environmental Group, McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC
Conor Ward, President, EBA Midwest Chapter, WEC Energy Group, Inc.

9:00 am to 10:15 am

No Resiliency NOPR; Now What?

10:15 am to 10:30 am

Networking Break

10:30 am to 12:00pm

Energy Regulatory Roundtable

12:00 pm to 1:30 pm

Annual Business Meeting

Networking Lunch & Luncheon Speaker: Veronica Gomez, SVP Regulatory & Energy Policy and General Counsel, Commonwealth Edison Company

 1:30 pm to 2:45 pm  Threats to the Reliability of the U.S. Electric Grid

2:45 pm to 3:00 pm

Networking Break

3:00 pm to 4:15 pm Local Opposition to Wind Farms



Jennifer S. Moore, Of Counsel, Katten & Temple, LLP
Craig Glazer, Vice President – Federal Government Policy, PJM Interconnection

Kathleen L. Barron, Sr. Vice President, Competitive Market Policy, Exelon Corp.

Derek Bandera, Executive Director, Federal Regulatory Affairs, MISO

Rob Gramlich, President, Grid Strategies LLC
Tanya Paslawski, Executive Director, Organization of MISO States
Hon. Angela Weber, Commissioner, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission
Hon. Sadzi Martha Oliva, Commissioner, Illinois Commerce Commission
Hon. Lawrence K. Friedeman, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
Veronica Gomez, SVP Regulatory & Energy Policy and General Counsel, Commonwealth Edison Company
Hanna M. Conger, Associate Attorney, Rooney Rippie & Ratnaswamy LLP
Kevin Spontak, Midcontinent Independent Transmission System Operator
Justin Davies, Supervising Engineer, Ameren Services Company
Ralph Zarumba, Vice President, Concentric Energy Advisors
Alan Anderson, National Energy Group Vice Chair, Polsinelli PC
Nikki G. Shoultz, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP
Christopher Ollson, PH.D.,Owner and Senior Environmental Health Scientist, Ollson Environmental Health Sciences

Registration Information:

Registration includes program sessions, electronic attendee handouts, lunch, breakfast, breaks, and reception.

The deadline for receipt of early bird registration is 2/15/2018. Conference registrations will only be accepted when accompanied by a check, money order, government purchase order/training form or credit card information and may be limited by the capacity of the facilities. Registrations will not be held without payment. No partial registration is available.

Registration Fees


Early Bird
(On or before 2/15/18)


Member  $405 $465
Non-Member $525 $525
Member (Gov't/Academic) $100 $125
Non-Member (Gov't/Academic) $150 $150
Full Time Student (EBA Member) $50 $100


Continuing Legal Education (CLE) Credit:

We will be applying for CLE approval in IL, IN, MO, KS & WI. If you require CLE in another state not listed here, please contact Lisa Levine at prior to January 30, 2018 to request submission.    

Three Ways to Register

Fax your completed registration form with payment to EBA: (202) 833-5596
Mail your registration form and payment to EBA, 2000 M St. NW, Suite 715, Washington, DC 20036


Cancellation Policy:

No registration fee refunds will be granted for cancellations received after February 28, 2018. In order to receive a refund (less $75 administrative
fee), the EBA must receive your written notice of cancellation by February 28, 2018. Registrants who are unable to attend may send a substitute for the entire program. Substitutions may be made at any time including on-site registration (non-members substituting for members will be charged the difference between member and nonmember fees). EBA regrets that refunds will not be
given for no-shows. Please note that regardless of the date the cancellation notice is received, no refunds will be processed until after the program. Email cancellation requests to


By registering for this program, you authorize EBA to use any photographs taken of you during the event. Photographs may be used in promotional materials or stories that appear in professional publications and websites.