Award Nomination Process

Gold_medal_ribbonNominations are now open for the Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award. 


In February 2018, the Energy Bar Association created the Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award in memory of Jason F. Leif, a past President of the Energy Bar Association (“EBA”), a past President of the Houston Chapter of the EBA, and a motivating force in the revitalization of the Houston Chapter. This award honors and recognizes exemplary long-term service, or one or more particularly significant examples of service, by an EBA member to one or more of the EBA Chapters. Exemplary service to the community in connection with EBA Chapter activities may also be considered. 

In May 2018, Jason was presented the first award, posthumously.  Today, we are calling upon EBA members to offer suggestions on candidates for the award named in his honor. You may nominate yourself or a colleague; the deadline is February 20, 2019

The Nominating Committee will review all submissions and, if appropriate, make a recommendation to the EBA Board.

How to Submit a Nomination

EBA seeks to ensure its regional chapters are vigorous, attuned to the needs of the membership, and committed to the Association’s mission of promoting professional excellence in the practice of energy law. EBA also wants to enhance the role of the EBA Chapters in representing EBA’s values and character at the regional level. Accordingly, we look for a variety of attributes in our nominees, including:

•        a record of service to one or more EBA regional chapters;
•        professional excellence;
•        adherence to high ethical standards;
•        leadership;
•        collegiality; and
•        diversity in all of its aspects. 

If you would like to nominate yourself or someone else to receive this distinguished award, please complete the nomination form and email it to members of EBA’s Nominating Committee: Rich Meyer, Bob Fleishman and Emma HandNominations must be supported by relevant information that demonstrates the nominee’s qualifications. Please submit your nominations no later than February 20, 2019.

Thank you for your assistance and we look forward to hearing from you.