## **EDITOR'S PAGE**

"Repeating that we are surrounded does not qualify as a plan of escape."

General George C. Marshall

The recent past has been tumultuous for the world and the energy industries. Major energy companies struggle to remain viable, electric restructuring may be shelved, the sanctity of contracts is being challenged, drilling in ANWR remains politically charged and FERC's Standard Market Design initiative is anything but certain.

Nearly contemporaneously with the founding of the *Journal*, the United States, also in the midst of a tumultuous period, created the Department of Energy, which had as one of its missions the promulgation of a national energy policy. The Department of Energy's creation was largely because, in the late 1970s, this Country imported more than half of its petroleum requirements. Today, imports constitute even a larger percentage of our usage.

What does this state of affairs have to do with the *Journal*? Surely it is not because in its nearly 24 years of publication, the *Journal* has offered a comprehensive national energy plan. It has not. But what the *Journal* has done consistently since 1980 (and will do in the future) is to offer diverse, well argued views on important issues affecting all the energy industries.

Although we only are beginning our 24<sup>th</sup> year of publication, the *Journal* already is embarked on plans to celebrate the milestone of its 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary. One thing is certain that whatever form the celebration takes, it will acknowledge the gifts, intellectual and otherwise, of all those who are responsible for the *Journal's* success.

William A. Mogel Editor-in-Chief

## FOUNDATION OF THE ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

## **OFFICERS**

Thomas E. Hirsch, III President

Kevin M. Downey Vice-President

Earle H. O'Donnell Secretary

Richard Meyer Treasurer

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Kevin M. Downey Alex A. Goldberg Jeffrey Andrew Gollomp Barbara K. Heffernan (ex officio) A. Karen Hill Thomas E. Hirsch, III Richard Meyer William A. Mogel (ex officio) Earle H. O'Donnell Jacolyn A. Simmons (ex officio) Regina Y. Speed-Bost Channing D. Strother, Jr