ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

> *Editor-in-Chief* Robert S. Fleishman

Executive Editor Harvey L. Reiter

Articles Editors David A. Fitzgerald Marvin T. Griff John S. Moot Jay Morrison Joshua Z. Rokach Kenneth M. Simon

International Articles Editor J. Thomas Brett

Book Review Editor Jonathan D. Schneider

Administrative Editor Grace D. Soderberg Notes Editors Stuart W. Conrad Alex Anton Goldberg Kenneth G. Hurwitz Brian M. Zimmet

Reports Editors Kristine L. Delkus Freddi L. Greenberg

Business Manager Glenn S. Benson

Editor-In-Chief Emeritus William A. Mogel

THE UNIVERSITY OF TULSA College of Law National Energy-Environment Law & Policy Institute

> Faculty Gary Allison Irma S. Russell

Student Editors

Editor-in-Chief Stephen Matthews

Executive Articles Editor Anthony Craiker

Jason Arnold

Daniel Crunkleton

Jennifer Barnett* Chris Brecht Keller Caubarreaux* Meredith Dibert* Michael Doss Brandon Frederick* Peggy Haddock Velia Lopez* Archibald Miller IV* Brett Panitz* Kari Staats* Lauren Waits Articles Editors Kara Davis Hugh Robert

Notes & Comments Editors Marina Greek Managing Editor Kinder Shamhart

> Student Staff Katherine Becker Adam Brigman Malori Dahmen Matthew Disorbo* James Erdle Pat Green* Jarred Kubat* Christie Martin Christ Miller* Brett Rutherford Cheryl Sullivan Michael Whelan

* Denotes Senior Staff

Executive Notes & Comments Editor Kaylan Lytle

Dan Phillips

Brittany Littleton Woodard

Brandon Biggs Amber Brock Matt Dattilo* Cheryl Dixon* Jay Forester Thomas Griesedieck* Nick Laurent* Jeremy Melton Brian Neighbarger* Zack Schreiner John Thomas Glen L. Work

THE ENERGY BAR ASSOCIATION

Michael J. Manning President

Donna M. Attanasio President-Elect

Adrienne E. Clair *Secretary*

Marcia C. Hooks Assistant Secretary Richard P. Bonnifield Vice President

Channing D. Strother, Jr. *Treasurer*

Susan A. Olenchuk Assistant Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Stuart A. CaplanFrank R. LindhKathleen A. CarriganBill MasseyDavid T. DootJohn E. McCaffreyDerek A. DysonKristina NygaardChristine F. EricsonDebra Ann Palmer

Sherry A. Quirk Carolyn Y. Thompson Sarah E. Tomalty

The Energy Bar Association is an international, non-profit association of attorneys, non-attorney professionals, and students active in all areas of energy law. Founded in 1946 as the Federal Power Bar Association, the Association currently has approximately 2500 members. The Association's voluntary membership is comprised of government, corporate, and private attorneys, as well as non-attorney professionals from across the globe, and includes law students interested in energy law. The mission of the Association is "to promote the professional excellence and ethical integrity of its members in the practice, administration, and development of energy laws, regulations and policies." In addition to publishing the *Energy Law Journal*, the Association organizes and sponsors a number of activities, including a continuing legal education program in the fall of each year, as well as a program held in conjunction with the annual meeting in the spring that focuses on issues of current interest. The Association also sponsors six formal chapters in the United States and committees that monitor and report to the membership on developments of interest. Complete membership and subscription information can be obtained from the Association at 1020 - 19th Street, N.W. Suite 525, Washington D.C. 20036, or by contacting us at (202) 223-5625 or admin@eba-net.org.

Twice a year, the *Energy Law Journal* publishes legal, policy, and economic articles and other materials of lasting interest with significant research value on subjects dealing with the energy industries. The Journal also welcomes articles and other materials on emerging issues and significant developments affecting the energy industries. Articles by members and non-members of the Association are welcomed. The Journal publishes articles and other materials of varying length that provide a full consideration of the issues and opposing viewpoints. All manuscripts must contain a synopsis, table of contents, and brief biographical statement about the author. Style and form of citations must be in conformity with the "Blue Book," as well as the *Energy Law Journal* Style Manual posted on the Energy Bar Association website. All manuscripts should be sent to Robert S. Fleishman, Editor-in-Chief, *Energy Law Journal*, by mail to Covington & Burling LLP, 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20004-2401 or electronically to rfleishman@cov.com. The opinions expressed in the published materials are those of the writers and are not intended as expressions of the views of the Energy Bar Association. Inquires about advertising in the Journal should be addressed to Mr. Glenn S. Benson at (202) 662-4589. The Journal is indexed in the INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS, the CURRENT LAW INDEX, WESTLAW, and LEXIS SERVICES.

By submitting materials for publication in the *Energy Law Journal*, you agree that any such materials including articles, notes, comments, book reviews, and committee reports that are published in the *Journal* are considered "works made for hire," and you assign all rights in and to those written works to the Energy Bar Association. The Energy Bar Association hereby grants permission for reproduction and distribution of copies of written works herein for non-commercial use, provided that: (1) copies are distributed at or below cost; (2) the notice of copyright is included on each copy (Copyright © 2007 by the Energy Bar Association); and (3) the *Energy Law Journal* and the author is clearly identified on each copy.

To be cited as: 28 ENERGY L.J. _____ (2007).© Copyright 2007 by the Energy Bar Association ISSN 0270-9163

FOUNDATION OF THE ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

OFFICERS

Regina Y. Speed-Bost President

Elisabeth R. Myers Vice President Andrew B. Young *Secretary*

Laura M. Schepis Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Donna M. Attanasio (ex officio) Cynthia A. Marlette Glenn S. Benson (ex officio) John E. McCaffrey Richard P. Bonnifield (ex officio) Peter E. Meier Robert S. Fleishman (ex officio) Harvey L. Reiter (ex officio) Christopher M. Foley Channing D. Strother, Jr. (ex officio) Les A. Fyock Michael J. Thompson Michael J. Manning (ex officio) Lodie D. White Elizabeth Ward Whittle