# ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Robert S. Fleishman

Executive Editor Harvey L. Reiter

Articles Editors
Nicholas W. Fels
David A. Fitzgerald
John S. Moot
Jay A. Morrison
Joshua Z. Rokach
Kenneth M. Simon

Notes Editors Stuart W. Conrad Alex A. Goldberg Kenneth G. Hurwitz Brian M. Zimmet

International Articles Editor
Thomas J. Brett

Reports Editors Kristine L. Delkus Freddi L. Greenberg

Book Review Editor
Jonathan D. Schneider

Business Manager Glenn S. Benson

Administrative Editor Meredith May Jolivert

Editor-In-Chief Emeritus William A. Mogel

# THE UNIVERSITY OF TULSA

College of Law

National Energy-Environment Law & Policy Institute

Faculty
Marla E. Mansfield

#### **Student Editors**

Editor-in-Chief Andrew J. Butcher

Executive Articles Editor
Chisum Lee Cooke

Executive Notes & Comments Editor Leslie Dubois

Articles Editors
Katie Oden Daniel Pilkington

Eric Tibbs

Jeff Tracy

Jahyme Brown

Notes & Comments Editors
Candice Freeman

Tyler Harden

Jason Arnold
Keller Caubarreaux
Matt Dattilo
Meredith Dibert
Brandon Frederick
Thomas Griesedieck
Jarred Kubat
Velia Lopez\*
Stephen Matthews
Archibald Miller IV
Brett Panitz
James Rubin\*
Kari Staats

Student Staff
Jennifer Barnett
Anthony Craiker
Kara Davis
Matthew Disorbo
Marina Greek
Melissa Herr\*
Nick Laurent
Kaylan Lytle
Alison McGraw\*
Chris Miller
Daniel Phillips
Kinder Shamhart
Jennifer Swan Lee\*
\*Denotes Senior Staff

Raegan Brummal\*
Daniel Crunkleton
Jessica Dickerson\*
Cheryl Dixon
Pat Green
Kelli Kelso\*
Brittany Littleton
Kelly Masters\*
Kendra Mosley\*
Brian Neighbarger
Hugh Robert
Kimberly Slinkard\*

## THE ENERGY BAR ASSOCIATION

#### **FOUNDED 1946**

David T. Doot President

Michael J. Manning Donna M. Attanasio President-Elect Vice-President

Gary E. Guy Gloria Halstead Secretary Treasurer

Adrienne E. Clair Channing D. Strother, Jr.

Assistant Secretary Assistant Treasurer

#### BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Frederic G. Berner, Jr. Frank R. Lindh Howard H. Shafferman Stuart A. Caplan William L. Massey Douglas W. Smith Kathleen A. Carrigan Debra Ann Palmer Carolyn Y. Thompson Derek A. Dyson Sherry A. Quirk Robert A. Weishaar, Jr. Marcia C. Hooks Randall S. Rich

The Energy Bar Association is an international, non-profit association of attorneys and non-attorney professionals, active in all areas of energy law. Founded in 1946 as the Federal Power Bar Association, the Association currently has 2300 members. The Association's voluntary membership is comprised of government, corporate, and private attorneys, as well as non-attorney professionals from across the globe, and includes law students interested in energy law. The mission of the Association is "to promote the professional excellence and ethical integrity of its members in the practice, administration, and development of energy laws, regulations and policies." In addition to publishing the *Energy Law Journal*, the Association organizes and sponsors a number of activities, including a continuing legal education program in the fall of each year, as well as a program held in conjunction with the annual meeting in the spring that focuses on issues of current interest. The Association also sponsors committees that monitor and report to the membership developments of interest. Complete membership and subscription information can be obtained from the Association at 1020 - 19th Street, N.W. Suite 525, Washington D.C. 20036, or by calling (202) 223-5625.

The *Energy Law Journal* is published two times a year. Articles by members and non-members of the Association are welcomed. All manuscripts should be of substantial length, not previously published, dealing with the energy industry, and follow the eighteenth edition of *The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation*. A brief biographical statement should be included. All manuscripts should be sent to Mr. Robert S. Fleishman, Editor-in-Chief, Covington & Burling, 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20004. Only manuscripts submitted exclusively to the *Energy Law Journal* will be considered for publication. The opinions expressed in the published material are those of the writers and are not intended as expressions of views of the Energy Bar Association. Inquiries about advertising in the *Energy Law Journal* should be addressed to Mr. Glenn S. Benson at (202) 662-4589. The *Energy Law Journal* is indexed in the INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS, The CURRENT LAW INDEX, WESTLAW, and LEXIS services.

By submitting materials for publication in the *Energy Law Journal*, you agree that any such materials including articles, notes, comments, book reviews, and committee reports that are published in the *Journal* are "works made for hire," and you assign all rights in and to those written works to the Energy Bar Association.

To be cited as: 27 ENERGY L.J. \_\_\_\_ (2006).© Copyright 2006 by the Energy Bar Association ISSN 0270-9163

# FOUNDATION OF THE ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

#### **OFFICERS**

Channing D. Strother, Jr. *President* 

Regina Y. Speed-Bost Vice-President Laura M. Schepis Secretary

Elisabeth R. Myers Treasurer

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Donna M. Attanasio Glenn S. Benson (ex officio) David T. Doot (ex officio) Robert S. Fleishman (ex officio) Christopher M. Foley Les A. Fyock Michael J. Manning (ex officio) Cynthia A. Marlette John Edward McCaffrey Peter E. Meier Earle H. O'Donnell (ex officio) Harvey L. Reiter (ex officio) Michael J. Thompson Elizabeth Ward Whittle

Andrew B. Young