ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Robert S. Fleishman

Executive Editor Harvey L. Reiter

Articles Editors David A. Fitzgerald Marvin T. Griff John S. Moot Jay Morrison Kevin Poloncarz Joshua Z. Rokach Kennth M. Simon

International Articles Editor J. Thomas Brett

> Book Review Editor Jonathan D. Schneider

> Administrative Editor Grace D. Soderberg

Notes Editors Stuart W. Conrad Alex Anton Goldberg Kenneth G. Hurwitz Brian M. Zimmet

Reports Editors Kristine L. Delkus Freddi L. Greenberg

Business Manager Glenn S. Benson

Editor-In-Chief Emeritus William A. Mogel

THE UNIVERSITY OF TULSA College of Law National Energy-Environment Law & Policy Institute

> *Faculty* Robert A. Butkin

Student Editors

Editor-in-Chief Zachary R. F. Schreiner

Articles Editors

James C. Erdle, Jr.

Jeremy E. Melton

Executive Articles Editor Katherine A. Becker

Christie Martin

Michael Doss

Notes & Comments Editors Lauren Waits Peggy Haddock

> Managing Editor Malori Dahmen

Chris Brecht* Jay Forester* Jonathan Birdsong Clark Bushyhead Alex Chan Lauren Davidson Kenna Whelpley Staff Members Adam Brigman* Brett Rutherford* Eric Hill Brad Johnson Palmer Johnson Michael Matison Megal Harrold Kyle Miller Robert Mitchener *Denotes Senior Staff Executive Notes & Comments Editor Glen Work

Andrew Conway

Michael Whelan

Amber Brock* Cheryl Jackson* Scott Morgan Eric Nicar Miriam Sweetin Nathan Taylor Trent White

THE ENERGY BAR ASSOCIATION Founded 1946

OFFICERS

Donna M. Attanasio President

Richard P. Bonnifield *President-Elect*

Adrienne E. Clair *Secretary*

Marcia C. Hooks Assistant Secretary Susan N. Kelly Vice President

Channing D. Strother, Jr. *Treasurer*

Susan A. Olenchuk Assistant Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Kathleen A. Carrigan William D. DeGrandis Derek A. Dyson Christine F. Ericson Jason F. Leif Frank R. Lindh Michael J. Manning John E. McCaffrey Paul B. Mohler Kristina Nygaard Debra Ann Palmer Regina Y. Speed-Bost Sarah E. Tomalty

The Energy Bar Association is an international, non-profit association of attorneys, non-attorney professionals, and students active in all areas of energy law. Founded in 1946 as the Federal Power Bar Association, the Association currently has approximately 2600 members. The Association's voluntary membership is comprised of government, corporate, and private attorneys, as well as non-attorney professionals from across the globe, and includes law students interested in energy law. The mission of the Association is "to promote the professional excellence and ethical integrity of its members in the practice, administration, and development of energy laws, regulations and policies." In addition to publishing the *Energy Law Journal*, the Association organizes and sponsors a number of activities, including a continuing legal education program in the fall of each year, as well as a program held in conjunction with the annual meeting in the spring that focuses on issues of current interest. The Association also sponsors six formal chapters in the United States and committees that monitor and report to the membership on developments of interest. Complete membership and subscription information can be obtained from the Association at 1020 - 19th Street, N.W. Suite 525, Washington D.C. 20036, or by contacting us at (202) 223-5625 or admin@eba-net.org.

Twice a year, the *Energy Law Journal* publishes legal, policy, and economic articles and other materials of lasting interest with significant research value on subjects dealing with the energy industries. The Journal also welcomes articles and other materials on emerging issues and significant developments affecting the energy industries. Articles by members and non-members of the Association are welcomed. The Journal publishes articles and other materials of varying length that provide a full consideration of the issues and opposing viewpoints. All manuscripts must contain a synopsis, table of contents, and brief biographical statement about the author(s). Style and form of citations must be in conformity with the "Blue Book," as well as the *Energy Law Journal* Style Manual posted on the Energy Bar Association website. All manuscripts should be sent to Robert S. Fleishman, Editor-in-Chief, *Energy Law Journal*, by mail to Covington & Burling LLP, 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20004-2401 or electronically to rfleishman@cov.com. The opinions expressed in the published materials are those of the writers and are not intended as expressions of the views of the Energy Bar Association. Inquires about advertising in the Journal should be addressed to Glenn S. Benson at (202) 628-6600. The Journal is indexed in the INDEX TO LEGAL PERIODICALS, the CURRENT LAW INDEX, WESTLAW, and LEXIS SERVICES.

By submitting materials for publication in the *Energy Law Journal*, you agree that any such materials, including articles, notes, comments, book reviews, and committee reports, that are published in the *Journal* are considered "works made for hire," and you assign all rights in and to those written works to the Energy Bar Association. The Energy Bar Association hereby grants permission for reproduction and distribution of copies of written works herein for non-commercial use, provided that: (1) copies are distributed at or below cost; (2) the notice of copyright is included on each copy (Copyright © 2008 by the Energy Bar Association); and (3) the *Energy Law Journal* and the author are clearly identified on each copy.

The Journal is printed on recycled paper.

To be cited as: 29 ENERGY L.J. _____ (2008).© Copyright 2008 by the Energy Bar Association ISSN 0270-9163

FOUNDATION OF THE ENERGY LAW JOURNAL

OFFICERS

Elisabeth R. Myers President

Laura M. Schepis Vice President Lodie D. White Secretary

Andrew B. Young Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Donna M. Attanasio (ex officio) Glenn S. Benson (ex officio) Richard P. Bonnifield (ex officio) Christine F. Ericson Robert S. Fleishman (ex officio) Christopher M. Foley Les A. Fyock Susan N. Kelly (ex officio) Cynthia A. Marlette Harvey L. Reiter (ex officio) Richard L. Roberts Richard G. Smead Regina Y. Speed-Bost (ex officio) Michael J. Thompson Andrea C. Wolfman