Please link to the specific award below:

Award nomination process

Paul E. Nordstrom Service Award                     

This Award was created in memory of Paul Nordstrom, a past President of the Energy Bar Association (“EBA”) and motivating force in the organization of the Charitable Foundation of the EBA (“CFEBA”).  The first award was given to Paul posthumously.  It is an award to honor and to recognize exemplary long-term service or a particularly significant example of public service by a current or past member to the community through the EBA, the CFEBA, or the Foundation of the Energy Law Journal.  Exemplary community service outside of these organizations may also be considered as a criterion for the Award.  Nominations are accepted each year by the Nominating committee and generally during the summer. Awarded in the Fall.



2021: David T. Doot-  Press Release
2020 - Harvey L. Reiter
2019 - James Curtis "Curt" Moffatt
2018 - Susan N. Kelly
2017 - Michael Stosser
2016 - Robert S. Fleishman
2015 - A. Karen Hill
2014 - Paul B. Mohler
2013 -William Mogel
2012 - Freddi L. Greenberg,
2011 - Richard Meyer
2010 - Sheila S. Hollis
2009 - Paul E. Nordstrom


Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award

In February 2018, the Energy Bar Association created the Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award in memory of Jason F. Leif, a past EBA President, a past President of the Houston Chapter of the EBA, and a motivating force in the revitalization of the Houston Chapter. This award honors and recognizes exemplary long-term service, or one or more particularly significant examples of service, by an EBA member to one or more of the EBA Chapters. Exemplary service to the community in connection with EBA Chapter activities may also be considered. The award is granted as deemed warranted by the EBA Board and may, or may not, be granted annually.  
In May 2018, Jason was presented the first award, posthumously. In 2019, the award was presented to Dan Pancamo for his exemplary long-term service to the Louisiana Chapter.
Jason Marshall. 2022 Jason F. Leif Chapter Service Award Recipient


2022- Jason Marshall 
2021- Cynthia B. Miller
2020 - Crystal McDonough
2019 - Daniel T. Pancamo
2018 - Jason F. Leif


EBA seeks to ensure its regional chapters are vigorous, attuned to the needs of the membership, and committed to the Association’s mission of promoting professional excellence in the practice of energy law. EBA also wants to enhance the role of the EBA Chapters in representing EBA’s values and character at the regional level. Accordingly, we look for a variety of attributes in our candidates, including:

  • A record of service to one or more EBA regional chapters;
  • Professional excellence;
  • Adherence to high ethical standards;
  • Leadership;
  • Collegiality; and
  • Diversity in all of its aspects. 

Nomination submissions are collected each year during the fall and should be directed to the to members of EBA’s Nominating Committee. â€‹Please complete: Nomination Form 

EBA State/Provincial Regulatory Practitioner Award

The State/Provincial Regulatory Practitioner Award may be given to a person(s) who fit the following criteria:

  • Representation of clients before U.S. , or Canadian provincial, regulatory agencies is a predominant part of the nominee's total practice;
  • The nominee's state or provincial practice and participation in the state or provincial energy regulatory process has produced significant results or recognition;
  • The nominee's state or provincial practice reflects enhanced professional competence of the practice of energy law;
  • The nominee has made substantial contributions to the advancement of energy law in the state(s) or province(s) in which the nominee practices. These contributions could be through the nominees work in private practice; government service (including ALJs and public service commission staff); academia; legislative activities; or any combination of the foregoing.
  • The nominee must be a member of the EBA, or must have been, a member of the EBA, for 3 or more years. EBA membership cannot be obtained for the sole and limited purpose of receiving the award.

Nomination submissions are collected each year during the summer and should be directed to the to members of EBA’s Nominating Committee. Nominations must be supported by relevant information that demonstrates the nominee’s qualifications. Awarded in the Fall.

Holly Rachel Smith, 2020- EBA PRESS RELEASE 


Frank R. Lindh

2021 - Frank R. Lindh
2020 - Holly Rachel Smith
2019 - H. Russell Frisby
2019 - Andrew O. Kaplan
2016 - Sandra Mattavous-Frye
2015 - Stephen H. Watts, II
2014 - Charles Gray
2013 - Jeff Genzer
2012 - Honorable Sonny Popowsky,
recently retired Consumer Advocate for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
2011 - Ben Stone
2010 - James Van Nostrand


EBA President's Award

The EBA President's Award is given occasionally to an individual that has made an extraordinary contribution to the profession or the development of energy law over a long career.  Awarded an occasion.

Robert S. Fleishman, 2019- EBA PRESS RELEASE 

2019 - Robert S. Fleishman
2017 - Robert Nordhaus
2010 - Richard D. Cudahy (Judge)
2008 - Richard J. Pierce, Jr.
2006 - Senator Pete V. Domenici
2004 - Charles B. Curtis 
2002 - Stephen F. Williams (Judge)
2001 - Congressman John D. Dingell


Diversity and Inclusion Champion

This award is given to an EBA Member who has shown unequivocal support of EBA’s diversity and inclusion program with sustained efforts toward the active promotion of diversity and inclusion within the Association and legal profession. This person embodies the principles of EBA’s Diversity and Inclusion program as outlined in the Diversity and Inclusion Policy and through their actions in EBA, CFEBA and FELJ and/or their professional career. 

The award was presented for the first time in May 2019 to Emma Hand, a former EBA President who was the driving force behind EBA’s establishment of a formal Diversity and Inclusion Policy. The award is granted as deemed warranted by the EBA Board and may, or may not, be granted annually. 

Andrea Wolfman, Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award recipient 2022

2022-  Andrea Wolfman- EBA PRESS RELEASE 
2021-  Sherry A. Quirk 
2020 - Chief Judge Carmen A. Cintron
2019 - Emma Hand

EBA’s Diversity and Inclusion Policy calls for the unequivocal support for, and sustained effort by the Association’s leadership in, increasing membership diversity, ensuring that diversity is reflected across all levels of the Associations, and active promotion of diversity and inclusion.

A candidate’s actions should go beyond simply mentoring a diverse individual or sitting on a committee. The Champion should have undertaken a course of action that has created, or will create, change within the Associations, other organization or institutions, or the energy or legal sectors at large. Examples of the type of effort that would be considered to render a candidate eligible for the award include, but are not limited to:
  • Creation or re-invigoration of a diversity and inclusion program;
  • Long term efforts that change the face of an organization and result in diverse and inclusive officers and employees within the organization being hired and retained; and
  • Successful advocacy for diversity and inclusion impacting the energy and/or legal sectors.

    Please complete: Nomination Form